1 Comment

A Display and a little bit about Design

This is a picture gallery of the display of my work in the shop of Harbour Gold (part of African Jewels) in Hermanus. It’s one of the more trendsetting (or ‘trend-making’) jewellery shops in the Western Cape, South Africa. I must say that Mrs. Albertyn (co-owner of African Jewels) did a fine job.

It’s also the opportunity to tell a little bit more about my designs and work. I’m inspired by the 13th century Italian scientist Fibonacci. I design and create jewellery pieces made with soil particles, gems and Sterling Silver from the South African Earth. The Fibonacci influence is most clearly visible in the ergonomic design of the wire of the earring (see this blog post – link opens in new window).  The different materials are bonded with natural ingredients derived from succulent plants; a procedure I developed in the past 3 years and which is frost, heat and water resistant.

One comment on “A Display and a little bit about Design

  1. Reblogged this on Herman van Bon Photography and commented:
    Ain’t I proud of my wife …..

    Like

Leave a Reply

